Similar Shopper Advertising thanks to Defer Chrome Extension

Recently similar items boxes started appearing on websites. Often, like in the example below, there is no item to purchase and the ‘similar’ items are unrelated and annoying. Firstly noted on my home Mac, I was more worried when the boxes also started appearing on my work laptop….

Similar Shopper alternative Items powered by Superfish
Similar Shopper alternative Items powered by Superfish

Affecting Chrome only and on two separate machines meant it had to be an update to an existing extension, or I’d foolishly added a new extension! A quick check of extensions ‘Settings >> Extensions’ revealed no nasty surprises and only 3 enabled extensions.

Defer Chrome Extension
Defer Chrome Extension

Systematically going through each I found a curious option under the Defer Extension for Instapaper (formerly Instrachrome)…

Defer Options

Ads, with a tick box to disable. Ticking the box on both machines seems to have worked nicely. No more similar items boxes so far!

Disable ads
Yes please……

4 thoughts on “Similar Shopper Advertising thanks to Defer Chrome Extension

  1. What is that easy. I started by deactivating Defer and saw that the popups were gone, so when I realised that it came from Defer, I installed it. Now I know I just could have checked Disable Ads – but they are not worth it.

Leave a Reply

