9 Days to go & tapering!

9 days to go and I’m 60% excited vs. 40% fearful of injury and the unknown. In a state of just wanting it to arrive and be done whilst really looking forward to it. 100% sure tapering feeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeels good!

Tapering: To diminish or reduce, to gradually lessen
Feels good!

In the context of my running tapering is backing off the last 3-2 weeks of training in a bid to get legs and body in optimal condition for the main event. The Sunday before last I ran 15 miles (instead of my usual 18-20) and this Sunday was a steady 10 miles on the Sunny Pembrokeshire Costal Path.

Saundersfoot, Pembrokshire
Sunny South Wales
Map last Sunday's run from RunKeeper
Now considered a ‘short’ run – Check out the elevation changes!

Jez has been updating my training plan as we go, the final week will only see me run 6-9 miles with lots of rest prescribed. I’m taking lots of advice and having a sports massage on the Monday to ease out any potential niggles. Cannot wait for my first beer and surf after it’s done. 9 days seems both a short and long time.

Over the last two weeks I’ve been reading a lot of marathon blogs and the provided magazines. All are packed with information / information overload. Linked below are two really useful blog posts. Lots of great advice for tapering and first time London Marathon runners like me!

http://www.realbuzz.com/blogs/u/Tom_Bedford/running-expert/posts/entering-the-marathon-taper/

http://www.realbuzz.com/blogs/u/Simon_Doyle/simon-s-sports-time-out/

£1589.99 raised so far
Nearly there!

Fund raising is going well! Thanks again to all those that have donated! Now is a great time to donate as I’m less than £12 from my target 😀

Please sponsor me here: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/OllyBrand

The BBC have an excellent new section on Meningitis. Please take the time to have a read and know the symptoms http://www.bbc.co.uk/health/physical_health/conditions/meningitis2.shtml

Leave a Reply

