18 Miles Run!

Two Milestones reached this weekend:

  • Over halfway to my fund raising target. Reached thanks to incredible generosity from a Cognos friend!

    Virgin Giving Page
    Fund Raising Page
  • 18 Miles plodded!

Thanks to all who have contributed so far. £800 to go seems a lot more achievable than the original target.  I have to raise £1600 to be eligible to race and £1300 of it by March 22nd. Clicking on the thermometer pic links to my fund raising page. All donations gratefully received.

The training plan suggested running 16 miles, having run 14 miles the last two Sundays. Both 14s were great for my confidence. Before them my furthest distance was the Bath Half last year. On a gorgeous sunny morning the plan was simple: Run 7 miles out, 7 miles back then 1 mile into Devoran and back to the car. The plan gave me a lot of options and backup as I stashed water, gels and food in the car.

However, this was not the plan of Mark, Mark and Nigel from Truro Running Club. All 3 veteran Marathon Runners. Somehow they persuaded me to do 8 miles out and 8 miles back. This then became 9 miles. Given the sun was shining and spirits were high we went for it.

Joining a running club has been great for my motivation. It has also provided running partners to push me and glean lots of good advice from. Thanks to all for the tips and additional motivation so far. Without these guys today’s run would have been a lot harder and 2 miles less.

I failed to get Runkeeper started before we left and missed the first few hundred metres denying me the full bragging rights. This happened largely because I fell on the costal path the Friday before last and scratched my iPhone holder. The scratches stop it responding to the Runkeeper app and start activity button. At least it wasn’t my screen and the arm band case only cost £5, delivered!

No prizes for guessing when we stopped to turn around, or when ‘nature’ called.

18 Mile Runkeeper Log

The best laid plans of mice and men – My legs are not my friends
Leave a Reply

